Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Abandoned in Hell

ebook
An astonishing memoir of military courage at a remote outpost during the Vietnam War
"A riveting, dead-true account in the tradition of Black Hawk Down and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young."—Steven Pressfield, national bestselling author of The Lion's Gate
In October 1969, William Albracht, the youngest Green Beret captain in Vietnam, took command of a remote hilltop outpost called Firebase Kate held by only 27 American soldiers and 156 Montagnard militiamen. At dawn the next morning, three North Vietnamese Army regiments—some six thousand men—crossed the Cambodian border and attacked.

Outnumbered three dozen to one, Albracht's men held off the assault but, after five days, Kate's defenders were out of ammo and water. Refusing to die or surrender, Albracht led his troops off the hill and on a daring night march through enemy lines.

Abandoned in Hell is an astonishing memoir of leadership, sacrifice, and brutal violence, a riveting journey into Vietnam's heart of darkness, and a compelling reminder of the transformational power of individual heroism. Not since Lone Survivor and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young has there been such a gripping and authentic account of battlefield courage.

INCLUDES PHOTOS

Expand title description text
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Kindle Book

  • ISBN: 9780698144262
  • Release date: February 3, 2015

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780698144262
  • Release date: February 3, 2015

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780698144262
  • File size: 1173 KB
  • Release date: February 3, 2015

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

An astonishing memoir of military courage at a remote outpost during the Vietnam War
"A riveting, dead-true account in the tradition of Black Hawk Down and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young."—Steven Pressfield, national bestselling author of The Lion's Gate
In October 1969, William Albracht, the youngest Green Beret captain in Vietnam, took command of a remote hilltop outpost called Firebase Kate held by only 27 American soldiers and 156 Montagnard militiamen. At dawn the next morning, three North Vietnamese Army regiments—some six thousand men—crossed the Cambodian border and attacked.

Outnumbered three dozen to one, Albracht's men held off the assault but, after five days, Kate's defenders were out of ammo and water. Refusing to die or surrender, Albracht led his troops off the hill and on a daring night march through enemy lines.

Abandoned in Hell is an astonishing memoir of leadership, sacrifice, and brutal violence, a riveting journey into Vietnam's heart of darkness, and a compelling reminder of the transformational power of individual heroism. Not since Lone Survivor and We Were Soldiers Once...and Young has there been such a gripping and authentic account of battlefield courage.

INCLUDES PHOTOS

Expand title description text